We will be describing the most popular methods of renewing CSM certification in this post. Let’s first understand why CSM certification is so in demand. The Certified Scrum Master (CSM), certification from Scrum Alliance, is very popular. It is recognized in the Agile community and is widely accepted. CSM’s are increasing rapidly, and so are the job opportunities available for Agile professionals.
CSM Certification Renewal Activities
Scrum Alliance Global & Regional Gatherings
Privately Organized Scrum Gatherings
Scrum Training, paid or free
Online content about Scrum
Prepare PowerPoint Presentations
Scrum books

You are recognized as an expert in Agile if you are one of Scrum Alliance’s Certified Scrum Master credential holders. There are many opportunities for you in industries that use Agile to deliver projects. You can cash your certification for good jobs and a better salary. The complete Scrum SEU guide is available here.
Your entry was not saved. Please try again. We have sent you links! You should have already received an email from masterofproject.com. If you have not received an email from us, please check your spam folders. You can also add masterofproject.com on the safe senders list to ensure you receive our emails.
It is great to have the Scrum Alliance’s Certified Scrum Master certification (CSM), but you must keep it active. To keep active, all Scrum Alliance certifications must be renewed every two years. CSM certification renewals must be done every two years. You will lose your CSM certification renewal if you don’t process it.
You will also lose your CSM certification renewal rights if you delay it for more than six months. Instead, you will need to retake the CSM exam. It is better to prepare well in advance for the renewal of your CSM certification so that you don’t have to rush to renew it.
Find out more about CSM Certification Renewal in our Scrum Alliance Certification Renewal Guide.
Master of Project Academy offers Scrum SEU Training for free. Register for free and earn 2 SEUs

CSM(r), Certification Renewal
CSM certification renewal is essentially a three-step process. Participation in Scrum activities is the first activity. The second activity is to submit Scrum Alliance SEUs. The last activity is to make a payment in order to renew your certification. In this post, we will discuss the details of these three activities.
Step 1 – Earn SEUs
After you have earned your Scrum Alliance CSM certification you must earn 20 Scrum Education Units. Scrum SEUs refer to hours spent learning, practicing, and participating in Scrum. To earn Scrum SEUs, you can take part in a variety of Scrum-related activities. Once you have earned the required amount of SEUs you can apply for the CSM renewal payment.
We will detail the steps to renew Scrum Alliance CSM and the activities you can do in order to earn SEUs in the next paragraphs.
Scrum Alliance-Sponsored Regional and Global Gatherings
Scrum Alliance holds two global gatherings per year. It takes place once in North America, and once in Europe. These gatherings bring together Scrum enthusiasts and professionals from all over the globe. These gatherings offer you the opportunity to meet Scrum practitioners and trainers, and expand your Scrum knowledge.
It’s a three-day event that is packed with learning opportunities. You can participate in various activities throughout the day.